Completely Oblivious.

Completely Oblivious – Jan. 2011

Yup.  That’s me.  Completely oblivious to what’s lurking in my body, coming to get me.  I’ve always been a relatively healthy person.  My sister and I have had an ongoing joke for as long as I can remember about how she got the short end of the stick in the health department.  She’s had to get braces, a Dark Ages-looking metal contraption to fix her overbite, asthma, a cancer scare, and the list goes on.  Not me.  I’ve enjoyed a lifetime of straight teeth and no chronic health issues.  I think I can even count on one hand how many times I’ve been sick with the flu.

And so, at the time this picture was taken, life was peachy keen and couldn’t have been more perfect.  My husband and I had just jumped into our first adventure in starting our own business, a Zumba Fitness studio in October of 2010.  If you’ve been living under a rock or in a cave, in short, Zumba Fitness is a Latin-inspired dance workout.  Fun and effective.  I’d lost 50 lbs. at this point with the program and was thoroughly enjoying teaching 10+ classes a week.  Not to mention the wonderful man I get to call my husband who made this dream of mine come true.  This was my full-time job and I loved it.  Lucky girl.
Lymphoma was about to rear its ugly head and turn our perfect life together upside-down.  I’ve always liked those crazy rides at the carnival or theme parks that turn you upside-down, the loop-de-loop.  The ones where people look at you like you’ve lost it when you say you wanna do that again.  This is THE ride of a lifetime but I don’t think I want a second go-around.  Call me crazy.
Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The Secret Life of the Pastor's Wife

Finding the Opinion that Really Matters

easily emused

Simple thoughts. Simple laughs.

Oyia Brown

A WordPress site to share a smile; then an anthology showing how things really are.

Marie Taylor, Ink

Mandalas, The Art of Meditation

Butterfly Mind

Creative Nonfiction by Andrea Badgley

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

the blogging disciple

Who is God, that He would choose to be mindful of man? Who is this King of Glory?

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

